When you create an AllSearch database, the default setting is for only you to have access. Under the default setting, no one from your firm (or anyone else) can view or access any of your database files. However, you can change that setting to invite others to view and/or upload files to an AllSearch database, per the instructions provided below.

How to change the default access setting

During database creation: After clicking the "create a new database" button, a pop-up window will appear, asking you to specify the type of database and to name your database. The bottom field in that window allows you to set your access setting. By default, the field will say "Only me" under "Who has access?" To change that and allow others to access your database, click "Change," as indicated in the screenshot below:

When you click "Change," you are given the option of allowing everyone in your firm to access your database. To do that, click on the link that says "Only I" can view and upload and switch that setting to allow "All members" of your firm to access your database. Then, click "Save" to save your permissions:

If you want to provide access to specific members of your firm only, please keep the default setting so that the database is only accessible to you and not your entire firm, and proceed to create your database. Then, after your database is created, click on the "Manage access" link that appears beneath the database title:

After you click on "Manage access," a pop-up window will display. You can invite specific members of your firm to view and/or access your database by entering their email addresses into the email field.

The default setting is to allow your invitees to view your database files only. If you want your invitees to also upload files to your database, click on the "view only" link beneath the "Invite via email" heading and select "view and upload" from the down-drop menu:

Please note: You should not click on the link that says "Only I" can view and upload unless you want to share your database with your entire firm. That link takes you to an "all or nothing" sharing option, where you either keep your database private or share it with your entire organization. To share your database with specific people only, leave that default setting in place and enter the email addresses of your specific invitees, per the instructions provided above.

After database creation: You can modify the sharing settings on your database at any time after database creation by clicking on the "Manage access" link that appears beneath the name of your AllSearch database. When you click on that link, you have the option of sharing access with your entire organization, or just inviting specific people to view and/or access your database files, per the instructions provided above.

Did this answer your question?